Review: The Godfather by Mario Puzo

I was expecting something else. People told me, completely straight faced, that Mario Puzo’s The Godfather was a masterpiece. At work, my boss took me aside to tell me – in hushed tones like I was being inducted into the Masons – that it would be the last book I’d ever need to read. Once, an otherwise entirely rational friend, promised me that it would change the way I looked at the world.

Now. I’ve just finished reading the book, and I think they must have watched the film instead.

Godfather-Quote-Mario-Puzo-There-are-things-that-have-to-be-done

Instead of the masterpiece I was promised, I found a kind of pulp-fiction criminal epic about the Italian-American experience.

I can’t fault Puzo for choosing to write it like this. He’d already written two books before the Godfather, and both had been well received by the critics without selling in massive quantities: You might say he was a “writer’s writer”.

The Godfather was where Puzo stopped writing for the critics, or himself, and aimed for something popular. He’d figured out that being a “writer’s writer” was in no way superior to being a “reader’s writer”.

It’s one thing to figure this out, but it’s another thing entirely to write a novel that sells twenty million copies. Puzo himself knew it wasn’t his best work: I saw an interview with him on Larry King when he said “If I’d known so many people were going to read it, I’d have written it better.”

“Accidents don’t happen to people who take accidents as a personal insult.”

The Godfather is the story of the rise and fall and rise again of the Corleone crime family. Headed by the lovable but ruthless Don Vito and his three sons (hot headed Sonny, the wobbly Fredo, and the straight-laced Michael), they’ve got every dirty finger in every dirty pie in New York. But this is the criminal underworld we’re talking about, and other criminals want what is his, and they’ll do anything to take it.

It would be a mistake to think its a simple crime novel we’ve got on our hands here. Puzo is more than willing gives you a peak into the psyche of some of the most ruthless villains to stalk the pages of a book, talking you through their motivations and decision making for some horrific acts. At these moments, it becomes a modern version of Macchiavelli’s The Prince, teaching us how to attain and maintain power.

“He had long ago learned that society imposes insults that must be borne, comforted by the knowledge that in this world there comes a time when the most humble of men, if he keeps his eyes open, can take his revenge on the most powerful.”

I suppose that might explain why people love it – it’s not like you have to work hard to decipher it: it’s a thrilling tale, packed with brilliant characters, and the lessons that are always relevant. Sure it reads like pulp fiction at times, and the writing is never going to light your fire, but it’s a good tale well told with themes that will stick in your mind long after you’ve finished it.

Pick a night when there’s nothing on the telly, and you’ll come out on top.


So what do you think? Have you read it? Did you like it? Would you recommend it?
Let me know in the comments!


Looking for more books with insights into criminal masterminds? Then why not check out one of these:

Review: World Chase Me Down by Andrew Hilleman - Andrew Hilleman's debut novel is the story of Pat Crowe. Part God's honest truth, part pack of lies, all wild fun. I read this grinning from ear to ear.
Review: His Bloody project by Graeme Macrae Burnet - I loved this novel about a triple murder in the Scottish highlands - I think you'll love it too.

11 thoughts on “Review: The Godfather by Mario Puzo

  1. I agree! This is one of those rare times when the movie is better than the book. I love The Godfather trilogy (well, minus part 3 lol). And when I finally got around to reading the book, it was a letdown.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I don’t know. Maybe it’s because I can actually call myself a Godfather expert – I’ve read the book 78 times and counting, and watched the three films 6 times each – but I found the book better than all the three films put together. Coppola’s writing became sloppy in the third part. The first part was salvageable only thanks to the brilliance of Brando and Al Pacino. The books, though, carried a sense of chill and foreboding throughout the length. Even as a veteran Godfather reader, everytime I read the part where Michael passionately argues that it’s never business and it’s always personal, I found it more powerful than when Al Pacino says “It’s strictly business” in contrary to the book.
    There were flaws, of course. But which book doesn’t have them?
    Yet, Godfather, for me, remains a mirror to the Great American Dream of millions of people in and out of the US of A, and also a spotlight on the materialistic attitude fueled by Capitalism and Mafia.
    Probably, what’s the most ironic part of the whole story is that the Don himself wasn’t an alcoholic nor did he possess any vice except that of killing people. However, his business interests included bootlegging, gambling etc. (though, not Drugs). Don Vito Corleone is a strange paradox of a man. And to understand his complex nature, this should be put on your re-reading list. Because one read is so not enough!

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Because I was in sixth grade when I read it and it was the only “adult” book that my folks ever let me read lol. It made me feel different from the rest of my classmates who were hung up over Hannah Montana or Justin Beiber and the only piece of literature they knew was Cinderella (I come from a Girls’ Catholic Missionary School). Reading Godfather made me feel all grown up. I talked about The Godfather when my extempore speech topic for the Inter-School Competition’s finals was “Favorite Book”, much to the horror of my devout Catholic teachers. I mimicked Brando’s distinct swagger and brought in my own interpretation of Vito’s character while I campaigned for the School’s Head Girl position. Vito and Michael had both intrigued me with their calm, cold and driven personalities, and their quiet hold over their organization. And trust me, their management tips actually work, though only to some extent. Ofc, any good leader will have to take inspirations while adding his own flavor to them and improvising his organizational capabilities…
        Bottomline: Reading Godfather made me feel like a badass when I was a kid. And as I grew older, I reread it over and over again because ever re-read showed me something new about every character…. some hidden quirk, some new depth, a new angle that I’d never see before. Perhaps thats why even now I hesitate to even think of writing a review of the book though it’s obviously my favorite!

        Liked by 1 person

  3. LOL…agreed. When I was 17 years-old me and my best friend snuck into the NYC premier of the movie. It was a really big deal back then, the line was around the corner. It is my most youthful boast. Then, of coarse, I went out and bought the book. What a let-down. Even at that tender age I recognized I was reading crap…very Jacqueline Susann-like.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Haha!!!! I thought the book was decent, its just everyone was telling me it was incredible!!!! I remember watching the film on VHS when my dad was out one day and not understanding a bit of it!

      Like

Leave a comment