Review: Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets by J.K. Rowling

We’re marking 20 years since Harry Potter introduced us to a fantastic world of wizadry here. This second offering from J.K. Rowling, the Chamber of Secrets, is a stone cold classic.

Whilst the first book in the series (the Philosopher’s Stone) was brilliant, it looks positively pedestrian next to the amazing adventures in Chamber of Secrets. This time around Harry, Ron and Hermione get mixed up in all kinds of trouble, flying cars, meeting giant talking (hungry) spiders, dodging enormous snakes slithering through the halls of Hogwarts – not to mention trees that fight, elves that punch themselves in the head, diaries that talk, and wizards that duel.

There’s nothing not to love in Harry’s second outing. It builds on Philosopher’s Stone brilliantly – the depth of the new world we’re introduced to is astounding at times – and Rowling’s humour shines through continously.

Yep, highly recommended!


So what do you think? Have you read it? Did you like it? Would you recommend it?

Let me know in the comments!


Want to check out other Harry Potter reviews, then look no further:

Review: Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone by J.K. Rowling - It's 20 year's since we were introduced to trainee wizard Harry Potter - it is brilliant
10 thoughts on “Review: Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets by J.K. Rowling

  1. It’s been a while since I last read Harry Potter books and I thought I probably wouldn’t pick them up for some time, but your review made me want to read the entire series once again. Nice review!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’ve read the Harry potter series probably 10 times total. I’m a complete Harry potter nerd and it definitely had a major impact on why I read so much. The first one definitely opened my eyes up to the magical world but the second one really had me feeling like I knew the characters better. Though my very favorite is goblet of fire 😊

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Nice. I’m recovering from a major surgery so I have not been reviewing for about one month. I’m surprised by how much I miss it. At least I can read the reviews of some of my fav bloggers.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

