Review: Into the Water by Paula Hawkins

The Girl on the Train writer, Paula Hawkins, returns with her second book – Into the Water is a decent thriller that manages to entertain right up to the final twist.

There’s an awful lot of story packed in here (so much that it can be difficult to keep track) – in the town of Beckford near Newcastle, troubled women have been drowning themselves in the local river for centuries. The latest, Nel Abbott, has left behind a teenage daughter, whose best friend also drowned herself a few months before.

Two suicides would be enough plot for any other 300 page thriller, but Hawkins has thrown in bonus plot lines everywhere: Nel’s estranged sister turns up, a disgraced cop from London is investigating, there was an eerily similar suicide in the same spot 30 years before, and a psychic keeps on dropping broad hints about something more sinister. Pretty much every page has a new revelation.

It’s not just the plot that’s ambitious. Hawkins has been pretty ambitious in her writing too – there are at least ten different narrators I counted, and it it switches between first and third person all the time.

Because of all this going on, Into the Water can be massively confusing at times. But then, somehow, it all makes sense – Hawkins keeps us on track pretty deftly, and brings everything together for a surprisingly satisfying finale.

Yep, recommended. Maybe one to read on the beach on your holiday.


So what do you think? Have you read it? Did you like it? Would you recommend it?

Let me know in the comments!

If you’re no fan of Paula Hawkins, I’d recommend Lie with Me by Sabine Durrant. Check out the review here.

15 thoughts on “Review: Into the Water by Paula Hawkins

  1. This one are waiting in my bookshelf for my vacation read. But I have read similar bookreviews that says its a bit confusing but at in the end its really good. But I got the same feeling reading The Girl on the Train to 😛

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I read it awhile ago. Weirdly, I agree with you about the plot being ambitious but I didn’t like this book that much. I didn’t care much about the characters. Still, that ending was a good surprise. And I actually really liked the Girl on the Train. I feel like I’m having unpopular opinions haha.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

