Review: Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep? by Philip K. Dick

This week’s Throwback Thursday is the book that inspired Bladerunner: Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep? by Philip K. Dick.

Set in a post-apocalyptic future, where it is almost impossible to tell the difference between robots and humans, Rick Deckard has to hunt down 6 escaped androids hiding out in San Francisco.

As Deckard tracks them down, he begins to wonder what really separates us humans from the androids, puzzled about whether he is human or not.

Its a kind of futuristic American Noir, but without the twists and turns. Its an interesting read, though not as interesting or well written as I thought it would be. Still, at least it’s a short book.

I’d recommend this one if you’re a fan of the film, or are after a quick sci-fi read. I’m not sure you could fall in love with it.

World’s okay-est sci-fi book.

2 thoughts on “Review: Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep? by Philip K. Dick

  1. I struggled with everything Philip K. Dick when I was in university – he was required reading for a lot of my literature modules.
    The irritating thing to me was that I really, reallllly wanted to get into his books but…I just couldn’t, so that sucked. His plot-lines are way ahead of their time in my opinion, and chyeah…I mean Bladerunner anyone?! It was cool as hell.
    Anyways, I think you’ve hit the nail right. on. the. head. It really is the world’s okay-est sci-fi book, haha.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

