The Versatile Blogger Award

A massive thank you to the Alice Fan at Wonderful Words 101 for nominating me for this one – if you have a minute head over there and check it out (the latest post on judging books by their covers latest post on judging books by their covers is really interesting).

Anyhoo, on to the Versatile Blogger Award. The rules seem pretty simple:

  • Display the award on your blog
  • Thank the blogger that nominated you and provide a link to their blog.
  • Share 7 facts about yourself.
  • Nominate 10 bloggers for the award and provide links to their blog.

OK, let’s get down to business…


I must’ve read every book about going to the moon there is

Yep – if there’s one thing I’m fascinated by, it’s the Race for Space. From Sputnik, through the first Mercury Seven Astronauts, to the moon landings, I just can’t get enough of it. Every now and then, I’ll even check out the live Youtube feed from the Space Station, or some historical footage or other, or even just this gif of Cosmonaut Alexei Leonov doing the first spacewalk:

tumblr_o48kznbjoh1qf8cm7o1_400

Alexei Leonov’s book is here if you’re interested.

According to Spotify, I have the worst taste in music in human history

I mean, I’m not saying my taste in music is great or anything, but why does it keep on recommending the Mavericks? Or Right Said Fred?

No good can come of these recommendations. Pfffffff….

I ran the London Marathon once, and I’ll never run any marathon ever again

Oh man, I was so sore after it. Did it in 4 hours 5 mins, and the nicest thing I can remember about it is being too tired to even cry after I finished. For these reasons, I’ve avoided the End of the World Running Club and What I Talk About When I Talk About Running (so far).

I’ve a strange fascination with baseball books and baseball movies

Can’t explain this one- must be up there with the space stuff for me. I’ve only ever seen one baseball game (Yankees v Orioles in case you’re interested), but I’ve read tonnes of books on it. Favourite one so far is Can’t Anyone Here Play this Game? by Jimmy Breslin:

Review: Can’t Anybody Here Play this Game? by Jimmy Breslin - This thing is brilliant. It’s about the ’62 Mets – the worst team in baseball history. It’s written in the straight talking kind of way that only a newspaper writer can do, had me smiling from start to finish, laughing out loud every ten minutes, and nostalgic for a team I’ve never even seen. If […]
I was 28 before I tried hot chocolate

I tend not to try any new foods if I can help it, but everyone was egging me on to try hot chocolate.And you know what? I was right. Hot chocolate is one of the most pointless drinks I can think of – It’s not chocolate, it’s not water, but the worst parts of both.

Still can’t understand what the fuss is about.

I’ve never been defeated in any hot dog eating challenge

Not once. If I head to any restaurant, and there’s a hot dog eating challenge on the menu, I will smash it into my face quicker than you can say “No mustard, please” (if you have mustard on your hot dog, then I will always judge you harshly).

I’m possibly the worlds worst, yet most enthusiastic, golfer 

Yep. Love the game, but can’t play it for toffee. As a heads up, you’ll probably see some golf books being put up on here in the run up to the Masters in April:

Review: Little Red Book by Harvey Penick - It’s just a book full of the thoughts of an old golf pro. I loved it in a strange kind of way – it’s not all about golf, some of it is just about life. I recommend it, but I’m not sure anyone else would enjoy it like I did
Review: Golf is not a Game of Perfect by Dr Bob Rotella - Generally I’d not trust anything by anyone calling themselves “Dr Bob”, but then this is highly recommended by a lot of golfers. In the end, I’m not sure how useful it will be to improve my game, but hey ho, worth a go right? Favourite part was when he made wet dreams sound like bed […]

 


 

OK, on to nominations here – apologies if you’ve done this already – I’ve just picked you because I find your blogs really interesting:

I really enjoy reading some of the stuff these guys do, and the comments they leave on my blog, so if you’ve made it this far, why not head over to one of their sites?

Cheerio – and thanks again to the Alice Fan at Wonderful Words 101.

 

2 thoughts on “The Versatile Blogger Award

  1. Thank you for participating! I enjoyed reading your post, and I believe that you don’t have to be particularly outstanding at something to like it 😄 . I like writing stories, but I have received numerous criticisms regarding its flaws (which can be a good thing) 🙂

    Thanks for mentioning me, too!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

