Review: The Girl with all the Gifts by M.R. Carey

Incredible book! The pages almost turn themselves in this one. The premise is awesome: genius child zombie wants regular school teacher to be her parent.

The book follows Melanie, a 10 year old genius zombie, who has has to help her school teacher, some soldiers, and and a doctor (with quite possibly the worst bed side manner in the world) escape to a safe haven on the coast.

The story itself is pretty normal (most zombie stuff is about survivors escaping to a safe haven right?), but the relationship between Melanie and her school teacher separates it from all of the other zombie stuff out there: she loves her teacher dearly… but she still wants to eat her a lot.

I thought I’d read or seen every possible version of a zombie apocalypse, but this is something brand new to me. It is brilliant.

Highly recommended – if I was in the business of giving out stars this would be a good ol’ 4.5 stars out of 5 (half a star docked for rushing the ending a bit).

I think there’s a movie coming out from this book too.

9 thoughts on “Review: The Girl with all the Gifts by M.R. Carey

      1. Good stuff! Likewise wouldn’t normally read a zombie book, but I was tricked into it (I used to think that books with “girl” in the title aren’t aimed at men – it seems to be a pretty common marketing ploy at the minute. Every other book on the shelf seems to start “the girl…” – so I was trying to be less snooty about my book choices when I picked it up! A good choice in the end).

        Like

Leave a Reply

